John N. Williams, DMD, MBA

Dr. John N. Williams, throughout his 36-year academic career, has recruited and mentored many successful leaders who advanced to roles of dental dean and beyond in academic leadership positions in dental schools and universities. During his career, he has been actively involved in higher education administration and leadership. Now as a Senior Consultant at AAL, he is sharing his expertise in matching outstanding, talented candidates with leadership opportunities in the academy. His areas of expertise include executive search, administrative organization, financing dental education, dental accreditation, faculty mentoring, leadership development, and philanthropy. He has served as interim president/president of Transylvania University, Lexington, KY, served as a dental dean of three research intensive university-based dental schools (1999-2019; Indiana University, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill and University of Louisville) as well as serving as Associate Dean for Educational Programs (Louisville) and as Assistant University Provost (Louisville) in charge of discipline-specific accreditation. He has been active at the national level serving as a member of the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA-Chicago) and Chair of the CODA Pre-doctoral Review Committee, which oversees accreditation policy for all DDS/DMD educational programs in the United States. He has served as vice president for Deans of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) and two terms as a member of the ADEA Board of Directors. Dr. Williams also serves as a Consultant for the Commission on Dental Accreditation. For five years, he was a faculty adviser and mentor for the ADEA-AAL Leadership Institute. He has made over 250 presentations to groups in dental and higher education. Dr. Williams has authored or coauthored more than 25 articles on dental education.  He is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists, Fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy and Fellow of the International College of Dentists. He is currently a member of two private higher education boards of trustees.