Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, D.D.S., M.S.

Dr. Kalkwarf is a Senior Consultant for AAL and works extensively in the areas of leadership development, institutional assessment, and Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) accreditation, as well as conducting feasibility studies. He has consulted at more than 40 dental schools worldwide, on issues ranging from curriculum, research, and clinical affairs to faculty and leadership development.

In addition to his role at AAL, Dr. Kalkwarf is Dean Emeritus at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA) Dental School. He received his Doctor of Dental Surgery from the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), completed a general practice residency at the Milwaukee VA Medical Center, and returned to UNMC for his master’s degree and a certificate in periodontics. He holds a certificate in personal financial planning from Florida State University. Dr. Kalkwarf served UTHSCSA from 1987 to 2013, with 24 years as Dean of the Dental School and the last two years as President ad interim. Prior to his appointment at UTHSCSA, he held faculty positions at UNMC and the University of Oklahoma. He is the principal author of more than 175 articles published in professional journals and has presented more than 270 lectures throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and Southeast Asia. He was the founding Chair of the American Association of Dental Schools (ADEA) Commission on Change and Innovation in Dental Education.

Dr. Kalkwarf received the American Dental Association’s highest award, the Distinguished Service Award, in 2009. He has also received Presidential Citations from the American Dental Education Association in 2001 and 2009, and has been recognized by Who’s Who in America since 1995. He is a Diplomat of the American Board of Periodontology and has served in numerous national leadership capacities, including as President or Chair of the American Dental Education Association; the Commission on Dental Accreditation; the Joint Commission of National Board Dental Examinations; the Supreme Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon Dental Honor Society, and the American College of Dentists.